Our partner – water quality monitoring network Hamburg

ENMO®hydro came as a result of the cooperation with the Institute for Hygiene and Environment Hamburg. The two worlds united in their best parts: on one hand, the development competence of one of the leading providers of laboratory information management systems, and on the other, the practice-proven expertise of an institute which over the years sets innovative standards in terms of water quality measurement in Germany. During development, both partners could draw on their vast experience: the water monitoring network Hamburg dedicated more than 20 years to the automatic water quality monitoring sites – either in daily measurement routine, or various groundbreaking research projects.

The Institute for Hygiene and Environment surveys with its network the quality of the surface water in the Hamburger section of Elbe and its tributaries since 1988. The monitoring serves the purposes of early detection in case of accidents, prevention and observation of short- and long-term changes in water quality.

During the last 20 years, a dense network of measuring sites has been established, for the continuous collection of chemical-physical parameters (oxygen, pH, conductivity etc.). Four of the sites are equipped with a biological early warning system: with daphnia and algae toximeters, the water quality monitoring network has the right resources for the biological monitoring. Automatic samplers ensure the timely and frequent sampling in case of detected accidents, providing e.g. enough material for a detailed lab analysis. Also in terms of transparency and information policy, the work of the water quality monitoring network is exemplary: all results (with daily update) are made publicly available via the portal gateway Hamburg.

Simple Share Buttons
Simple Share Buttons

Unser Partner – Gewässergütemessnetz Hamburg

ENMO®hydro entstand aus einer Kooperation mit dem Institut für Hygiene und Umwelt Hamburg. So kam das Beste aus zwei Welten zusammen: die Entwicklungskompetenz eines führenden Anbieters für Labordateninformationssysteme und die praxisbewährte Expertise eines Instituts, das seit Jahren innovative Standards in der Gewässergütemessung in Deutschland setzt. Bei der Entwicklung konnten die Partner auf einen reichen Erfahrungsschatz zurückgreifen: Das Wassergütemessnetz Hamburg widmet sich seit über 20 Jahren dem Thema automatisierte Gewässergütemessstationen – sowohl in der täglichen Messroutine als auch in verschiedenen wegweisenden Forschungsprojekten.

Das Institut für Hygiene und Umwelt mit seinem Wassergütemessnetz überwacht seit 1988 die Qualität der Oberflächengewässer im Hamburger Elbabschnitt sowie in den Hamburger Nebenflüssen der Elbe. Das Monitoring dient der Frühwarnung bei Unfällen, der Prävention und der Beobachtung kurz- und langfristiger Veränderungen der Wasserqualität.

Im Laufe der vergangenen 20 Jahre wurde ein dichtes Netz von Messstationen zur kontinuierlichen Erhebung chemisch-physikalischer Messgrößen (Sauerstoffgehalt, pH-Wert, Leitfähigkeit etc.) etabliert. Vier Messstationen sind mit einem biologischen Frühwarnsystem ausgerüstet: Mit Daphnien- und Algentoximetern verfügt das Wassergütemessnetz über Ressourcen zum biologischen Effektmonitoring. Automatische Probennehmer stellen sicher, dass bei erkannten Auffälligkeiten immer Proben für eine detaillierte Laboranalyse zur Verfügung stehen. Auch hinsichtlich Transparenz und Informationspolitik ist die Arbeit des Wassergütemessnetzes beispielgebend: Über das Portal Gateway Hamburg werden die Messwerte tagesaktuell der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht.

Simple Share Buttons
Simple Share Buttons